Support us

DonateNow
Clean Water for North Carolina is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization.

Upcoming Events

Oct. 7, 10:00 AM, Science Advisory Board meeting with focus on hexavalent chromium & other unregulated contaminants, Archdale Bldg, Ground Floor Hearing room, 512 N. Salisbury St. Raleigh

Take action

Frack-Free NC Lobby Day, June 5

Join us on Tuesday, June 5, for Frack-Free NC Lobby Day (see flyer) when we’ll fill the halls of the General Assembly and meet with legislators to let them know that there is NO reason to pass ANY legislation that would allow fracking in NC!

NO EXPERIENCE NEEDED!
Pre-lobby briefing starts promptly at 10:00 am at the Marbles Kids Museum (Venture Hall in IMAX Building, follow signs), 201 Hargett St., Raleigh  Please allow 20 minutes for parking!

BEFORE YOU COME:

LEGISLATIVE BRIEFING: 10:00-11:15, MARBLES KIDS M– USEUM, 201 E. Hargett St., Raleigh (Directions: Marbles Website or Google Maps)

  • Meet the rest of your lobbying team
  • Find out tips for lobbying effectively
  • Hear “talking points” on fracking’s impacts and pending legislation

TRAVEL TO THE NC LEGISLATURE AND MEET WITH DECISION-MAKERS: 11:20, finish no later than 2:00

  • Short walk together to the Legislative Building
  • Meet with your legislators
  • Leave by 2:00, unless you wish to stay and watch the House in session
  • Phone in the results of your meeting to your group contact

To join a carpool from your area, contact:

Western NC: Katie Hicks, Clean Water for NC, 828-251-1291, katie@cwfnc.org
Anson Co.: Denise Lee, Anson Co. W.A.L.L., 704-836-6324, ansoncountyswall@yahoo.com
Charlotte area: Jenny Marienau,350.org, 678-492-8100, Jenny@350.org
Stokes Co.: Dan Wolber, No Fracking in Stokes, 336-813-0205, donwoppa@aol.com / Linda Hicks, 336-427-3320, lhallhicks@aol.com
Rockingham County: Jesse Epperson, 336-908-2176, jepperson@hughes.net
Chatham/Guilford/Rockingham/Alamance/Durham/Orange Cos., Elaine Chiosso, Haw Riverkeeper, 919 542-5790, info@hawriver.org
Moore Co.: Ruth Stolting, Save Our Sandhills, 910-235-3862, rstolting@centurylink.net
Chatham Co.: Deep River Clean Water Society, deeprivercleanwater@gmail.com
Triangle area WILPF: Lib Hutchby, Triangle Branch of Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom, 919-606-8280, libhutchby@earthlink.net
Lenoir/Johnston/Craven/Wayne Cos.: Alissa Bierma, Neuse Riverkeeper, 919-856-1180, alissa@neuseriver.org
 
Statewide groups: Blue Ridge Envr. Defense League: Therese Vick, 919-345-3673, therese.vick@gmail.com ~ Food & Water Watch: Renee Maas, 919-593-7752, rmaas@fwwatch.org ~ Clean Water for NC: Maribel Sierra, maribel@cwfnc.org, ~NC Sierra Club: Travis Hargett, 919.833.8467, travis.hargett@sierraclub.org

If you have enough folks committed to Lobby Day to rent a van or bus, please contact katie@cwfnc.org or 829-251-1291 by Friday, June 1 to let us know where you’re coming from, how many folks, and cost estimate you’ve gotten. We can provide at least $200 to help cover your costs, and perhaps more, and have a check waiting for you on Lobby Day.

If you can bring at least two other people in your car, please contact us by Friday with names of those coming with you and where you are coming from. We can provide the driver our volunteer rate mileage, 25 cents/mile, for your round trip from anywhere in NC.

 


 

Comments are closed.